Friday, April 30, 2010
Babies for Sale
Why why why do the boys sleep in when daddy is home and wake up at the crack of dawn when I'm by myself? Yesterday Jon took the day off and said he'd get up with the boys and the darn kids slept in until 8:30. This morning... 6:40. Seriously?! Who wakes up at 6:40am?? By 9:00 I was EXHAUSTED. Matthew made a very exciting discovery. (Exciting for him, not for me). They have both been army crawling for about two weeks now, but they have really only scooted around the living room since that is where we hang out and that is where all the toys are. I'm not sure they really even considered going farther than a few feet. But as I'm changing Caleb, I realize that Matthew is gone. The first step to being a great twin mommy is to lose one of your kids, right?! So I leave Caleb in the living room (totally naked of course) to go find my missing Moonpie, thinking that he couldn't have gotten far. Apparently he had made it across the living room, through the dining room, and well into the kitchen, where he discovered the glowing blue nightlight plugged into the wall just above the baseboard. Lovely. So I pick him up and trek downstairs to dig out the outlet plugs. Forgot about Caleb naked in the living room. By the time I got back he had watered the rug. I plopped Matthew back in the living room and diapered my little pee-er. Two minutes later, Matthew has made another break for it and this time he's headed towards the dog food. Now I really don't care if my kids eat dog food (they are Paddocks, they will eat worse!) but Rigby get super nervous with kids by his food. I'm a little nervous about how he will handle the babies by it and today is not the day to find out! I scoop up Houdini and decide that its time to tie them both down and feed them breakfast. However, since getting colds over a week ago, neither of them will eat any solids. I don't even know why I keep trying because it is seriously exhausting and I want to rip all of my hair out at every meal. I put them in their bouncers and strap them down. Now I can't lose one and the dog is happy that his food is safe (at least for the time being). Did we eat any breakfast?! NO! They performed somersaults in their bouncers (please see below) and ate more of the boogers dripping down from their noses than they did their applesauce or oatmeal. I still had to get Matthew's antibiotic in him, which of course didn't go any better than the oatmeal and now his pajamas are covered in pink bubblegum amoxicillian. I'm sure it stains, but I was too worn out to change him and stain stick it, so I sacrificed the pajamas and put them both down for an early nap! I am going to take a shower, and if I don't hear any screaming, I might even take the time to shave my legs for the fourth time since the boys were born. (And yes, they are 8 months old... you do the math!!)
Tuesday, April 13, 2010
Nap wars
Caleb and I are having a battle of wills as we speak! He is seriously the worlds worst napper. He was only napping for 30 minutes, which I thought was horrible, until he decided that 15 to 20 minutes was all the nap he needs. If that really was all he needed I'd be fine with it. But the kid is a major crab-cake ALL day! This morning he woke up after exactly 30 minutes (almost to the second) and I am leaving him in there to fall back to sleep. Its not working. And now I think he's woken up his brother. Drat. If anyone can make him nap for longer than a half hour, I will vote for you for president. I think I am losing this fight...
Thursday, April 1, 2010
River
Thought I was getting a text message but apparently it was the actual theme song from The Office on the TV. Oops!
Took the boys down to the river for the first time. Jon was more excited than a six year old on Christmas morning. He held them both and they all just looked out over the water for a long while. It was beautiful. I know he was dreaming of taking them fishing someday soon. The boys were just glad to be outside. Stuffed them both in a baby swing and they squealed the whole time. If only they knew just how much time they'll spend on that river with their daddy :)
Took the boys down to the river for the first time. Jon was more excited than a six year old on Christmas morning. He held them both and they all just looked out over the water for a long while. It was beautiful. I know he was dreaming of taking them fishing someday soon. The boys were just glad to be outside. Stuffed them both in a baby swing and they squealed the whole time. If only they knew just how much time they'll spend on that river with their daddy :)
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)